Mt. Washington Road Race

Last weekend was my 6th Mt Washington Road Race.  Although not my best time, I felt pretty good for the whole race and was happy with my overall fitness level.  This race is probably the hardest race I have ever done, psychologically as the 7.8 mile course is uphill the whole way, VERY uphill.  It is hard to know how hard to push and what to save for the top as there is no real way to train for it.  The weather was the best it has ever been for me at this race with temps in the 50’s at the top and bluebird skies, you could see for 100’s of miles in all directions.

What made this year a bit different was in a addition to running the race, uphill we decided to run back down.  I have never run down a steep 7.8 mile hill so I wasn’t sure what to expect. The run down was effortless although my quads started to hurt pretty bad at the 3 mile mark and I knew I was going to be seriously sore the following day.  It was a lot of fun as well as good training for TRR.  It was also far faster than driving down as we left the summit before cars were allowed to leave and the first 2 cars just passed us just as we reached the bottom.  I woke up Sunday morning and my legs were as sore as they had ever been, not surprising after that downhill.

MT Washington Results

MT Washington Results

Next Up: Falmouth Five and Dime 10 mile trail race this weekend.  My fitness is starting to be where I need/want it to be, about 6 weeks until TRR.

Categories: Race Report | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.